Reflection

A dear friend and relation of mine passed away this morning.  She was only 68 years old.  I remember when I first met Phyllis, she ran a Bed & Breakfast in Connemarra, a beautiful part of the west of Ireland in Co. Galway.   When I first arrived in Connemarra for a summer job I felt I was literally on the edge of Ireland.  The sheep filled fields were surrounded by stone walls and it felt like the long winding road that touched the horizon up ahead was never going to end.  Phyllis was a warm, friendly lady who loved meeting new people.  She had the perfect job for her personality.  I remember her gorgeous hot home made vegtable soup being so warm and comforting, such a treat to eat after coming in from the rain and into her cottage on the edge of Ireland.   Spending many hours of time with Phyllis and her mother, felt like I was only with them for half an hour.  Time went that fast as she talked about her childhood growing up in such an interesting way, that I will never forget.  Phyllis it was a pleasure to meet you all those years ago and I feel privileged to have known you.  On the day I left Connemarra as the autumn commenced, my party stopped off for a picnic on a stunning beach called Ballyconneely.   The sun was bright in the sky and there was a gentle breeze as we poured tea from the flask that was my last day in Connemarra.   I would love to return to that part of Ireland some day and walk on this beach again and if I do I will reflect on those many moments I shared with you Phyllis, may you rest in peace  x x x

~ by Sharon on March 6, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
